CIO of the Year Awards

SFBT Special Section SFBT Announcement Winners Press Release

Congratulations to our 2020 winners!


Ralph Loura

Super Global

Mark Papermaster


Prakash Kota

Large Enterprise

Tom Rodden


Christopher Desautel

Large Corporate

Colleen Berube


Kumud Kalia

Public Sector

Edward Kopetsky

2020 Keynote

Tom Leighton, Co-Founder & CEO, Akamai Technologies

Dr. Tom Leighton co-founded Akamai Technologies in 1998 and served as Akamai’s Chief Scientist until he became CEO in 2013. Under Dr. Leighton’s leadership, Akamai has evolved from its origins as a Content Delivery Network (CDN) into one of the most essential and trusted cloud delivery and cybersecurity platforms, upon which many of the world’s best brands and enterprises build and secure their digital experiences. During his initial four years as CEO, Akamai’s revenue and profit grew by 70%, and annual revenue from Akamai’s security business grew 15-fold to more than $400 million per year.

Leadership Award Recipient

Richard Daniels, EVP & CIO (fmr), Kaiser Permanente

At Kaiser Permanente, one of America’s leading healthcare providers and not-for-profit health plans, Dick most recently served as its EVP & CIO following roles as its SVP of Enterprise Shared Services and its SVP & Business Information Officer. Over his 12-year tenure, Dick developed vision and strategy that leveraged technology to deliver quality care, service, access, and affordability. He further oversaw the execution of a plan that leveraged technology in transforming the organization to a cybersecurity sensitive, digital world and institutionalized governance mechanisms that enabled saving $1 billion.

Explore 20 years of CIO ORBIE finalists and winners.